About the Games

About GSSE

The Games of the Small States of Europe (GSSE) are a biennial multi-sport event, launched by the Republic of San Marino in 1985. The Games are organized by and featur the National Olympic Committees of nine European small states which are also affiliated members of the European Olympic Committees (EOC).

The Games are held at the end of May or beginning of June and feature competition in nine Summer Olympic sports. From its initial forming at the 1984 Olympics through 2009, there were eight members. In 2009, Montenegro became the group’s ninth member.

To be eligible for participation in these Games, members all have a population of less than one million people. Cyprus is the only exception. This is due to the fact that upon inception of these Games in 1984, its population was below one million.

The participating countries are:

  • Andorra
  • Cyprus
  • Iceland
  • Liechtenstein
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Monaco
  • Montenegro
  • San Marino

Malta 2023

9 countries, 10 sport disciplines, at least 1,000 athletes will be actively involved in the XIX th edition of the Games of the Small States of Europe (GSSE); hosted in Malta in 2023 and organised by the Maltese Olympic Committee. The Games promise to be an exciting, colourful and fun experience.